DUI and DWI are the more common terms used in other states, and were used in Ohio in the past. But in 1982, the law changed to the more technical OMVI.
Since then, the law has been changed again to specify that operating any vehicle under the influence, even if it’s not motor-powered, is a crime. So the “M” was dropped, and now the official term is OVI.
The penalties for OVI charges in Ohio are severe and can result in jail time, fines, and the loss of your driver’s license.
If you are convicted of your first OVI in Toledo, Ohio, you will face a mandatory minimum sentence of three days in jail and a fine of $250. You will also lose your driver’s license for six months.
The penalties increase for subsequent offenses, and if you are convicted of OVI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above 0.17%, you will face a mandatory minimum sentence of six days in jail and a fine of $500. You will also lose your driver’s license for one year.
If you refuse to submit to a chemical test, you will automatically lose your license for one year.
If you are convicted of OVI while transporting a child under the age of 14, you will face enhanced penalties, including a mandatory minimum sentence of ten days in jail and a fine of $1,000. You will also lose your driver’s license for two years.